The Alphabet Train personalised book review and giveaway at https://lukeosaurusandme.co.uk

Review & Giveaway: Find My Name In The Alphabet Train

October 22, 2017

Luke started Year R this September and after only half a term at school, I’ve witnessed his thirst for knowledge surge. In particular, his interest in the alphabet, phonics, reading and spelling has taken me by complete surprise. I did not expect my kid to come home after two or three weeks of school and be able to spell words like ‘sad’ or ‘pot’, let alone come home and start spelling out Mikey’s name for him.

Maybe I haven’t looked into the Year R curriculum as well as I should have, maybe it’s just a mother’s pride, maybe I just don’t give him enough credit…whatever the reason for my surprise, my heart swells when we do his ‘homework’ and his keen interest in reading has only increased with the start of ‘big boy school’.

I received an email one day asking if I’d be interested in reviewing a personalised children’s book. Reading is such a huge part of my life, and I’m keen to encourage Luke to share in my love of books, so I immediately replied with a “yes please!”

Find My Name In The Alphabet Train personalised book review and giveaway at https://lukeosaurusandme.co.uk

Luke finds his name in The Alphabet Train

Dr Niamh has written a personalised children’s book called “Find My Name In The Alphabet Train”. As you’d imagine, the story focuses on letters, sounds and rhymes and fits in perfectly with Luke’s current age, interests and abilities.

Personalisation is an amazing concept to children. If it’s got their name on it, or it looks like them, they will love it! In fact, Dr Niamh states on her website that it’s nine times more likely that your child will engage with reading if their name is written into the story.

Personalising Find My Name In The Alphabet Train

It’s not just the name that is customisable when purchasing a copy of Find My Name In The Alphabet Train though. Your child is also illustrated into the story – Luke always opens the book and immediately sees his picture and points, saying “look Mummy, that’s me and this is my train!” The representative image of your child is designed especially so that your little ones will instantly be able to recognise themselves in the book, with the offer of choice of hair and skin colour and whether or not glasses are worn.

About The Story

This hardback book is 60 pages of bright and colourful illustrations and clever rhyming. At the beginning of the story, your child meets a train full of cute animal characters, who end up taking you and your child on an exciting adventure through the letters and sounds of the alphabet.

The rhyming story is written with phonics in mind, so each character and each letter you meet has it’s own personality. When you meet a new character, you are encouraged to read the letter sounds at the end of sentences and familiarise yourself with the sounds by reading the rest of the page which has words beginning with the same sounds. For example: ‘The sound of this letter’s amazing to say: A a a, said Ant. Make the sound of this letter, let’s play! A a a.’

Luke loves the repetition of the letter sounds and I’ve found it’s been the perfect accompaniment to his learning in Year R so far.

Find My Name In The Alphabet Train offers a unique and engaging way of learning with your child. We’ve enjoyed sitting down together to have a nice cuddle and a read. Luke’s massively enjoyed finding the letters from his name, as prompted at the end of each animal character’s page: ‘…to look for a K that might lurk in his name.’ Luke’s started to point out not only the letters in his name, but he’s also recognising the letters from other people’s names too.

Find My Name In The Alphabet Train personalised book review and giveaway at https://lukeosaurusandme.co.uk

No One Has To Miss Out On The Of The Joys Of Reading

Reading and writing with children is so important and it’s a time of day that I really enjoy doing with Luke. The font used in this children’s book is dyslexic-friendly and has been especially chosen to help every child to read and write – ensuring that no one has to miss out on the joys of reading.

​As a parent, I enjoyed reading this book with Luke immensely. It’s magical to watch his little eyes sparkle as he connects the letter sounds and the animals and the words all together. Reading books like this is what childhood is all about – it’s absolutely wonderful.

Find My Name In The Alphabet Train Giveaway

I have enjoyed this book so much and so has Luke. It’s for this reason that I am delighted to say I have the opportunity to give away one hardback copy of Find My Name In The Alphabet Train to one lucky Lukeosaurus And Me reader!

I think that all children in the first few years of school could really benefit and reap the rewards from reading a book like Dr Niamh’s ‘Find My Name In The Alphabet Train’ and that’s why I’m so excited to be able to host this giveaway for one winner to win a hardback copy of the book, personalised for their child.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

T&C’s for entering Find My Name In The Alphabet Train Giveaway

  • You are entering to win 1 hardback copy of a Find My Name In The Alphabet Train, customisable for your child.
  • This giveaway is open to UK residents only
  • Entrants must be 18+
  • Giveaway opens on 23/10/2017 at 12am and closes 05/11/2017 at 12am.
  • I am not responsible for the shipping and handling of your prize. If you encounter any problems, I will help the best I can to get things sorted for you, but I cannot take responsibility.
  • The winner will be contacted by email and via Twitter (if you enter your handle in the Rafflecopter widget). For this reason, please ensure the information you enter with is valid.
  • If you are prompted to enter a website URL when commenting, please leave this blank if you do not have a blog/your own website (ie. please don’t enter your Facebook account or similar).
  • Once the winner has been randomly selected, you will have 1 week to get back in touch with me. Once you’ve replied to me, I will forward your details to the appropriate person who can ship your prize to you.
  • If you do not reply after 1 week, I will re-draw and a new winner will be selected.

Find My Name In The Alphabet Train personalised book review and giveaway at https://lukeosaurusandme.co.uk
*I was sent a copy of Find My Name In The Alphabet Train for review purposes. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

SuperLucky Blog Giveaway Linky

 

74 Comments

  • iain maciver

    October 23, 2017 at 11:57 am

    the gruffalo

  • laura stewart

    October 23, 2017 at 3:17 pm

    my daughter like the peter rabbit books

  • Claire bayliss

    October 23, 2017 at 3:44 pm

    Littlest’s current favourite book is currently the My Little Pony Collection, Applejack’s Busy Day x

  • Ashleigh Allan

    October 23, 2017 at 4:14 pm

    The tiger who came to tea

  • fiona waterworth

    October 23, 2017 at 6:55 pm

    the dinosaur who pooped a planet

  • Hazel

    October 23, 2017 at 7:09 pm

    We LOVE Burglar Bill!

  • Andrea Fletcher

    October 23, 2017 at 7:15 pm

    We’re going on a bear hunt.

  • CAROLYN HEYWORTH

    October 23, 2017 at 8:30 pm

    Elmers colours

  • Kerry Kilmister

    October 23, 2017 at 9:28 pm

    Poppy loves The Hungry Caterpillar

  • Ren

    October 23, 2017 at 9:51 pm

    Julia Donaldsons Room on The Broom is our favourite !

  • Solange

    October 24, 2017 at 3:22 am

    What The Ladybird Heard

  • Carolyn

    October 24, 2017 at 4:24 am

    Great blog! Only just stumbled across it, but will be popping back regularly

  • Claire glace

    October 24, 2017 at 11:44 am

    chicken licken

  • Angela Treadway

    October 24, 2017 at 12:46 pm

    Dear zoo x

  • MANDY DOHERTY

    October 24, 2017 at 12:52 pm

    A Squash and a Squeeze

  • Steph at Mental Parentals

    October 24, 2017 at 3:15 pm

    My 6 year olds favourite book is Tiddler by Julia Donaldson
    Steph at Mental Parentals recently posted…Early Sign of Labour or just a Symptom of Late Pregnancy?My Profile

  • Sally Collingwood

    October 24, 2017 at 3:29 pm

    The Gruffalo

  • Clare Thomas

    October 24, 2017 at 4:15 pm

    Mog The Forgetful Cat

  • Lynn Heath

    October 24, 2017 at 6:18 pm

    My daughter loves the smartest giant in town

  • Tina HEWITT

    October 24, 2017 at 6:34 pm

    The Gruffalo`s Child

  • Stephanie Keill

    October 25, 2017 at 12:23 pm

    At the minute my son is loving the hungry caterpillar

  • Hannah Wallington

    October 25, 2017 at 6:55 pm

    My daughter loves the gruffalo

  • Sarah Addey

    October 25, 2017 at 9:04 pm

    The hungry caterpillar

  • Jodie W

    October 26, 2017 at 8:31 pm

    Not a night goes by where we dont read ‘How do dinosaurs say goodnight’ with my son

  • Shaz wilkes

    October 27, 2017 at 7:10 pm

    The hungry caterpillar

  • Margaret GALLAGHER

    October 27, 2017 at 10:46 pm

    The hungry catterpolla

  • G Keegan

    October 28, 2017 at 6:54 am

    Room on the Broom.

  • sarah morris

    October 28, 2017 at 9:57 am

    The hungry caterpillar as was mine when I was younger!

  • Ruth Harwood

    October 28, 2017 at 11:10 am

    At the mo we’re reading Matilda and she says that’s her fave!!

  • Lisa (mummascribbles)

    October 29, 2017 at 9:16 am

    What a fabulous book- Zach has also taken to reception learning and I’m amazed he can spell already! His fave books are the Mr men series! Although he often changes to others! Thanks for linking up with #TwinklyTuesday

  • Karen Hill

    October 29, 2017 at 7:34 pm

    The hungry caterpilar x

  • Helen Stratton

    October 29, 2017 at 10:19 pm

    At the moment, it is The Hobyahs, but it changes all the time!

  • Susan B

    November 1, 2017 at 1:25 pm

    It changes from time to time. Started with The Very Hungry Caterpillar but she has now moved on to the Roald Dahl books and particularly likes Matilda.

  • Victoria Hall

    November 1, 2017 at 3:26 pm

    The very hungry caterpillar, all 4 children have loved it

  • michelle o’neill

    November 1, 2017 at 5:52 pm

    room on the broom x

  • Vicki WEston

    November 1, 2017 at 7:12 pm

    Going on a bear hunt

  • Hannah Rowley

    November 1, 2017 at 8:01 pm

    The Gruffalo

  • sheri Darby

    November 1, 2017 at 9:39 pm

    Winnie The Pooh

  • Sa ma

    November 1, 2017 at 11:08 pm

    Charlie and the chocolate factory

  • Lorraine Stone

    November 2, 2017 at 12:56 pm

    Zog and the Flying Doctors

  • Emma Whittaker

    November 2, 2017 at 6:56 pm

    My daughter loves The Stickman

  • Laura Pritchard

    November 2, 2017 at 8:23 pm

    Room on the Broom by Julia Donaldson

  • Kerry Taylor

    November 2, 2017 at 8:52 pm

    We love reading, but our favorite at the moment is ‘Spookyrumpus’. Very fitting for Halloween…

  • Sarah Austin

    November 2, 2017 at 9:38 pm

    The Hungry Caterpillar

  • Helen Swales

    November 2, 2017 at 10:08 pm

    My daughter loves the Spot The Dog series of books, especially Spot Bakes A Cake and Spot Goes on Holiday; they are fun due to the number of flaps and tabs to pull to find Spot but are not ideal for bedtime as she squeals with delight when she finds Spot; we read something calmer at bedtime otherwise she’d never get to sleep.

  • carol boffey

    November 3, 2017 at 9:01 am

    burgler bill

  • Rebecca Powell

    November 3, 2017 at 11:18 am

    The Gruffalo

  • francis lee

    November 3, 2017 at 11:19 am

    my childs fave book at the moment is the BFG

  • Tracy b

    November 3, 2017 at 11:53 am

    We’re going on a bear hunt at the moment!

  • Keith Hunt

    November 3, 2017 at 2:45 pm

    Five Go Off to Camp

  • Jeannette @autiSmmumma

    November 3, 2017 at 2:46 pm

    What a lovely book, have shared x

  • JULIE WARD

    November 3, 2017 at 4:52 pm

    Grandson loves any Thomas the Tank books

  • Rachael Sexey

    November 3, 2017 at 5:15 pm

    The velveteen rabbit

    1. Lukeosaurus And Me

      November 4, 2017 at 1:44 pm

      Oh that’s a good one!

  • Rachel

    November 3, 2017 at 7:51 pm

    This looks like a really good idea. My niece loves the ‘Pants’ book – makes her laugh everytime!

  • Katie

    November 3, 2017 at 8:45 pm

    Charlie and the chocolate factory

  • Adrian BOLD

    November 4, 2017 at 12:04 am

    My son loves The Gruffalo.

  • Danielle pooley

    November 4, 2017 at 12:37 am

    My little boy likes ‘calm down boris’

  • Carly Belsey

    November 4, 2017 at 5:29 am

    My daughter loves “Calm Down Borris” which is a hand puppet book and my son loves the Diary of a Wimpy Kid books. Thank you, fab giveaway

  • Tee Simpson

    November 4, 2017 at 11:34 am

    Mine love room on a broom

  • paula cheadle

    November 4, 2017 at 12:07 pm

    I loved Tom Thumb, but my grandkis love the mr men and little miss books

  • Kim Neville

    November 4, 2017 at 2:37 pm

    Pip and Posy and the scooter

  • Jennifer Baker

    November 4, 2017 at 2:58 pm

    The shoemaker and his elves x x x

  • EJ Dunn

    November 4, 2017 at 3:17 pm

    Quacky, Quack, Quack

  • Zoe Mackie

    November 4, 2017 at 5:01 pm

    Bear Hunt

  • Ben Robb

    November 4, 2017 at 5:10 pm

    Winnie The Pooh

  • Christine Hall

    November 4, 2017 at 5:21 pm

    My grandson loves Winnie the Poo

  • Katie W

    November 4, 2017 at 6:41 pm

    The Gruffalo at the moment, although i am trying my hardest to chance it to the Jolly Postman (my favourite from my childhood)

  • Donna W

    November 4, 2017 at 7:45 pm

    Our little boy loves ‘Oi Dog!’ at the moment. He’s not quite 2 1/2 and he’s already memorised the whole thing so that he actually ‘reads’ it to us now!!

  • Amy Tidd

    November 4, 2017 at 7:59 pm

    My daughter loves the gruffalo

  • Natalie Crossan

    November 4, 2017 at 8:03 pm

    Room on the broom xx

  • Terrie-Ann Wright

    November 4, 2017 at 10:01 pm

    I love the Dinosaurumpus, its so much fun for children to read.

  • Jodie A Green

    November 4, 2017 at 11:02 pm

    At the moment my son is 17 months and loves the musical nursery rhyme books hes got

  • Lia Burns

    November 4, 2017 at 11:38 pm

    My daughter loves any books by Julia Donaldson especially room on the broom x

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Prev Post Next Post
*Some links on this blog may be affiliate links. Lukeosaurus And Me is a participant in the Amazon EU Associates Programme, an affiliate advertising programme designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.co.uk
%d bloggers like this: