Baker Days Letterbox Cake Review from lukeosaurusandme.co.uk

Baker Days Letterbox Cake Review (Give Away)

May 19, 2015

Hello every one,

A little while back, I was contacted by Andrea from a fabulous company called Baker Days. Baker Days is, as the name suggests, a baking company and they specialise in making cakes for all sorts of occasions, whether it a personalised “Happy Birthday” or cup cakes for a corporate event. Recently, they have added a new addition to the already great selection of cake choices: the letterbox cake.

Baker Days Letterbox Cake Review from lukeosaurusandme.co.uk

The concept of this cake is fairly straight forward and quite frankly, utterly genius. Perhaps there’s a new baby in the family? Someone passed their exams with flying colours? It’s Grandma’s birthday? Don’t send them flowers, instead send cake! Yes! Cakes by post, straight through your letterbox! Great, huh?

Letterbox cakes are the baby of the Baker Days cake family and when I was asked if I fancied reviewing one for them, I said yes! Straight away! Cake!! (I really like cake!)

The letterbox cake, as with the other Baker Days cakes, can be personalised. I decided, as it was my birthday around the time of the email, to have a little birthday message to myself. However, I later decided to change this and just have my blog name featured on the cake instead. Thinking this would be a problem, I emailed Baker Days back and explained what I wanted, they promptly replied back with a, “Yes, no problem!” which I thought was a good start! I don’t like being a picky customer, but it’s always reassuring to know there’s good customer service.

When the cake arrived, it was in a white cardboard box which, as the name suggests, fitted through my letter box.I live in a flat, so all the mail for all the residents of the building collect at the bottom of the stairs onto a concrete floor. I was pleasantly surprised when I opened my cardboard box to find my cake snuggly contained within a cute Baker Days tin (that I am totally going to be reusing for something!) and the cake was completely unharmed. I was also impressed that the lovely people at Baker Days had also sent me two candles, a few balloons and a party blower, even though I had chosen to change the cake design and it no longer said happy birthday.

Baker Days Letterbox Cake review over at lukeosaurusandme.co.uk

The cake itself was delicious. I opted for a simple sponge cake, but there are a variety of options available – including gluten free. The icing was still soft to touch, not rock solid as I expected it to be and the cake was lovely and moist, not at all dry.

Personalised Letterbox Cake review from lukeosaurusandme.co.uk

Don’t just take my opinion though, I decided to share the love and invite my sister over for a bit of tea and cake to see what she thought. Here’s what she had to say:

“It was very yummy. It had a lovely light fluffy texture and tasted awesome…sweet and vanillary! The decoration was great. I’ve never seen printed icing that was such good quality and fun. The cakes would make great presents, especially as you can send them through the letterbox.”

My other half was a big fan too and Luke was definitely pleased with the portion he received!

Baker Days Letter Box Cake review from lukeosaurusandme.co.uk

Over all, the presentation and delivery of this cake was prompt and beautiful. The people at Baker Days were friendly and cooperative, even after I asked to change the design at the last minute. I love that the birthday cake came with a little pack of balloons, a party whistle and some candles, it shows the company care and they want you to enjoy your day just as much as the person who’s ordered you the cake.

If I were to receive one of these cakes through my letter box as a gift or surprise instead of flowers, I’d be very happy! I think there are so many occasions where this type of cake would fit the bill perfectly and I will most likely end up using the company in the future for family birthdays and special occasions.

Does the Baker Days letter box cake sound like something you’d be interested in? Yes? (of course it does, who doesn’t love cake?)

How about filling in the Rafflecopter widget below for the chance to win your very own Baker Days Letterbox Cake in our GIVE AWAY?!

UK entries only, please.

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

**I was sent a Baker Days letter box cake in return for my honest opinion of the product. All thoughts are my own.

 

 

Family Fever
The Dad Network

57 Comments

  • Tracey Peach

    May 19, 2015 at 9:39 am

    Chocolate Cake xxx

  • Tracy Nixon

    May 19, 2015 at 9:46 am

    I love a maderia cake with vanilla buttercream!

  • iain maciver

    May 19, 2015 at 9:53 am

    a pastry apple pie

  • laura jayne bates

    May 19, 2015 at 1:10 pm

    chocolate cake

  • Lukeosaurus And Me

    May 19, 2015 at 1:22 pm

    They’re great! I will be using them again for sure πŸ™‚ xx

  • Jo Laybourn

    May 19, 2015 at 5:44 pm

    I like coffe and walnut cake!
    Jo Laybourn recently posted…Sportpax – Review & GiveawayMy Profile

    1. Lukeosaurus And Me

      May 19, 2015 at 6:23 pm

      Good choice!! Xx

  • debbie smith

    May 19, 2015 at 5:44 pm

    i love cherry cake ! fab giveaway and blog x

    1. Lukeosaurus And Me

      May 19, 2015 at 6:23 pm

      Thank you lovely, I’m glad you like it! Cx

  • laura banks

    May 19, 2015 at 6:48 pm

    carott cake

  • Elizabeth Harbron

    May 20, 2015 at 5:55 pm

    Victoria Sponge with raspberry jam πŸ™‚

  • Louise Smith

    May 20, 2015 at 6:12 pm

    Lemon Drizzle Cake

  • Alison

    May 20, 2015 at 6:28 pm

    Chocolate fudge cake

  • Anthony Harrington

    May 20, 2015 at 7:41 pm

    lemon iced sponge cake

  • Lynne Durkin

    May 20, 2015 at 8:51 pm

    Love a fruit cake with marzipan and icing as a special treat x

  • Ruth Harwood

    May 21, 2015 at 7:17 am

    Chocolate Cake!!

  • Jenni – Odd Socks and Lollipops

    May 21, 2015 at 10:09 am

    It’s got to be chocolate cake
    Jenni – Odd Socks and Lollipops recently posted…My Top Ten favourite things about BreastfeedingMy Profile

  • Janet Dring

    May 21, 2015 at 10:38 am

    Chocolate fudge cake

  • victoria

    May 21, 2015 at 6:16 pm

    carrot cake

  • katie skeoch

    May 21, 2015 at 6:32 pm

    Chocolate ganache

  • Jodie Cook

    May 22, 2015 at 8:04 pm

    Red velvet

  • claire griffiths

    May 23, 2015 at 12:19 am

    victoria sponge

  • claire woods

    May 23, 2015 at 6:03 pm

    carrot cake

  • Elizabeth Smith

    May 24, 2015 at 7:04 pm

    How cruel to make me choose! Probably lemon drizzle cake

  • Lynsey Buchanan

    May 24, 2015 at 11:41 pm

    Chocolate Fudge Cake

  • Karen Barrett

    May 25, 2015 at 6:01 pm

    Chocolate cake

  • Louise Fairweather

    May 26, 2015 at 7:19 pm

    Chocolate is my favourite type of cake
    Louise Fairweather recently posted…The Beach Book Review And GiveawayMy Profile

  • Jayne T

    May 29, 2015 at 12:27 pm

    I love chocolate cake, thanks for the yummy giveaway.

  • Laura Baker

    June 1, 2015 at 1:25 pm

    Coffee and walnut

  • Elizabeth Briggs

    June 3, 2015 at 3:47 pm

    I love chocolate cake x

  • Georgia

    June 3, 2015 at 4:20 pm

    Sounds fab!

  • Amy B

    June 3, 2015 at 8:37 pm

    I love chocolate cake best!!

  • Victoria Prince

    June 5, 2015 at 7:31 am

    A lovely gooey chocolate fudge cake πŸ™‚ Yum yum

  • Michelle Banks

    June 6, 2015 at 6:54 pm

    chocolate cake x

  • Susan Hoggett

    June 6, 2015 at 10:34 pm

    chocoklate cake

  • Karen R

    June 7, 2015 at 6:48 am

    I absolutely love coffee and walnut cake πŸ™‚

  • Mary Campbell

    June 7, 2015 at 7:09 am

    Apple cake – just love it!

  • Emily Knight

    June 7, 2015 at 8:57 am

    It has to be carrot cake for me – with a nice and thick cream cheese frosting!
    Emily Knight recently posted…The Hoxton Hotel, Shoreditch, London: ReviewMy Profile

  • Donna Clinton

    June 7, 2015 at 10:43 am

    Lemon sponge cake

  • Anthea Holloway

    June 7, 2015 at 12:51 pm

    Victoria sponge with fresh cream and strawberry jam filling.

  • Jamie Millard

    June 7, 2015 at 9:49 pm

    BIRTHDAY CAKE!

  • Patricia Avery

    June 7, 2015 at 9:55 pm

    Grandma’s rough cake – a family recipe that has been handed down πŸ™‚

  • Janice Mackin

    June 7, 2015 at 10:36 pm

    Chocolate cake!

  • Ellen Stafford

    June 7, 2015 at 10:39 pm

    Chocolate cake πŸ™‚
    Ellen Stafford recently posted…A Health UpdateMy Profile

  • Rennene Hartland

    June 8, 2015 at 11:15 am

    Carrot Cake

  • Rich Tyler

    June 8, 2015 at 11:51 am

    Chocolate Fudge Cake Mmm πŸ™‚

  • Laura Pritchard

    June 8, 2015 at 12:54 pm

    Chocolate cake!

  • Sarah phillips

    June 8, 2015 at 5:49 pm

    Good old Vicky Sponge!

  • Natalie Crossan

    June 8, 2015 at 6:08 pm

    Madeira cake x

  • Andrew Seaman

    June 8, 2015 at 6:17 pm

    Victoria Sponge

  • Kaci Soderstrom

    June 8, 2015 at 6:56 pm

    Chocolate for sure

  • Jane Middleton

    June 8, 2015 at 7:58 pm

    chocolate fudge cake

  • helen newton

    June 8, 2015 at 8:07 pm

    I love all cakes β™₯β™₯β™₯
    But a Fav is Victoria Sponge β™₯β™₯

  • Patricia Fraser

    June 8, 2015 at 8:17 pm

    Madeira Cake

  • Heather Haigh

    June 8, 2015 at 8:51 pm

    I’m torn between chcolate cake and fruit cake, though I think I just like cake. A lot.

  • Leanne Bell

    June 8, 2015 at 9:46 pm

    I love chocolate fudge cake. x

  • tracy sinclair

    June 8, 2015 at 10:17 pm

    My favorite is Chocolate x

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Prev Post Next Post
*Some links on this blog may be affiliate links. Lukeosaurus And Me is a participant in the Amazon EU Associates Programme, an affiliate advertising programme designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.co.uk
%d bloggers like this: