One For Sorrow, written and illustrated by Mr Gresty review at https://lukeosaurusandme.co.uk

Review: One For Sorrow Children’s Book

January 11, 2019

I mentioned over on my Instagram account last week and on this Facebook post, that I’ll be featuring more content this year that is based around mental health. It’s a huge part of my life and so it seems silly to avoid writing about it, especially as I have found that it’s actually quite cathartic and useful for me to get all my thoughts down on paper, so to speak.

Mr Gresty, author of ‘One For Sorrow’ got in touch with me at the end of 2018 and asked if I’d be interested in reading his new children’s book with Luke and reviewing it on Lukeosaurus And Me. After delving a little deeper, I knew immediately that this was a classic in the making and a really important piece of children’s literature.

Why? Because One For Sorrow is a beautifully written and illustrated story that gently introduces children to the subject of mental health.

One For Sorrow, written and illustrated by Mr Gresty review at https://lukeosaurusandme.co.uk

Most of us are familiar with the old One For Sorrow nursery rhyme: ‘One for sorrow, two for joy, three for a girl, four for a boy, five for silver, six for gold, seven for a secret, never to be told. Eight for a wish, nine for a kiss, ten for a bird you must not miss.’

The rhyme is based on a superstition that the number of magpies you see that day relates to your future. Well that rhyme features two of One For Sorrow’s magpie characters: Sorrow and Joy.

It’s important to note that, despite the title and narrative, this book does have a happy ending – empathised by the big, shiny sticker on the front cover!

The Story

In the story, Sorrow, a magpie, wakes up to find that he has lost his Joy. Throughout the next few magnificently illustrated pages, Sorrow’s story is told to us through eloquently written rhyme. Sorrow flies from his tree to search in the fog, but despite how hard he looks, he cannot find Joy. He flies back to the garden and searches their tree once more, before saying “I feel so alone, maybe friends could help me?” One by one, he asks his friends about Joy. Sadly, his friends aren’t that helpful and instead of looking for Joy or talking to Sorrow about how lonely and sad he is feeling, they reply to him with phrases such as, “don’t be a sad boy” and “try not to fear”.

One For Sorrow, written and illustrated by Mr Gresty review at https://lukeosaurusandme.co.uk

These phrases replay in Sorrow’s mind and make him feel even more upset and lonely. Eventually, disheartened and alone, he flies off, causing him to meet a wise old owl. As our little magpie tells the wise owl his story, the fog begins to clear. Joy is there with him on the rooftop and, just like the fog, Sorrow’s worries vanish from sight and Joy promises to “fly with him both day and night.”

Mental Health As A Topic Of Conversation With Children

It is safe to say that I am a huge fan of One For Sorrow and I am so thankful for brilliant writers like Mr Gresty who broach the subject in a gently and easily digestible manner.

As someone who has realised retrospectively that I suffered with anxiety from a very young age, I wholeheartedly agree with teaching children about mental health. I think it’s a subject that affects everyone at some point in their lives and it should be openly discussed with children. One For Sorrow offers parents, carers and maybe even teachers the opportunity to gently introduce mental health as subject of conversation, enabling children to understand their own emotions, as well as those of the people around them.

A problem shared with the right people is a problem halved. It is as important for children to understand mental health and feel comfortable talking to someone trusted about their feelings as it is for adults to respect and validate children’s emotions.

One For Sorrow, written and illustrated by Mr Gresty review at https://lukeosaurusandme.co.uk

Our Thoughts On One For Sorrow

I have nothing bad to say about this book. I think both the subject matter and the way in which it’s delivered is brilliant and I will definitely be on the lookout for other works from Mr Gresty. Luke enjoyed the style of writing; he’s a big fan of books that rhyme. I am a fan of that too – I love how easily the story flows when you read it out loud. The illustrations are stunning and accompany the story very well. Although Sorrow is clearly looking for Joy (another bird, as Luke pointed out, “you can tell by her capital J!”) the double meaning is pretty easy to understand and Luke, aged 5, understood that Sorrow was sad and was looking for his friend, but also he wanted to feel happy again.

One For Sorrow, written and illustrated by Mr Gresty review at https://lukeosaurusandme.co.uk

Should You Get It? Where Can You Buy It?

If you have children at home aged between 4 – 7 or you work with children, I definitely think that One For Sorrow should be on your bookshelf. The story is fantastically executed, the writing and illustrations are great and the book itself also looks really nice. The introduction is written by the fabulously funny comedian, writer, actor and former psychiatric nurse, Jo Brand. One For Sorrow can be purchased from the Mr Gresty website – click here to visit the shop.

A review of Mr Gresty's 'One For Sorrow' children's book, which gently introduces the topic of mental health to children. Read more at https://lukeosaurusandme.co.uk

*We were sent a copy of One For Sorrow to read and review. All thoughts and pictures are my own.

Other Posts You Might Like:

Mental Health: Feel Stress Free and Thrive

Book Review: James and the Birthday Balloon

Book Review: Don’t’ Ever Look Behind Door 32

Happy Mum, Happy Baby Book Review

Hopster TV & Game App For Children

27 Comments

  • Sabina Green

    January 12, 2019 at 10:24 am

    This is great. I think it is so important for kids to learn about mental health. My son has been learning things already at infant school. This book sounds brilliant.
    Sabina Green recently posted…Winter Defensive Driving Tips for the Whole FamilyMy Profile

  • Amy – All about a MummY

    January 13, 2019 at 8:26 am

    This sounds like a wonderful book. My eldest definitely has an anxious streak (which she has inherited from me) so this sounds like a great book for her.
    Amy – All about a MummY recently posted…3 Essential Travel Hacks for Single ParentsMy Profile

  • Wendy

    January 13, 2019 at 8:34 am

    Oh my goodness, I need to buy this book for my son. He has such strong feelings and is so sensitive and I do worry about his mental health as he grows up, he seems to feel things really deeply. This seems like a wonderful way to introduce the topic to younger children and the story sounds perfect for such a task xx

  • Jayne @ Sticky Mud and Belly Laughs

    January 13, 2019 at 12:22 pm

    What a fantastic book. It is so important to encourage our little ones to be open about their feelings. I’d like to think that my boys can come and talk to me or their dad about anything. x
    Jayne @ Sticky Mud and Belly Laughs recently posted…The Top 7 TagMy Profile

  • Gresty

    January 13, 2019 at 7:06 pm

    Thank you all for your lovely comments, One for Sorrow is also on Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/oneforsorrow.book/

    And if you are fast you can purchase a copy for £10 until 14th January 2019 from shop.mrgresty.com

    Many thanks,
    Gresty.

  • Anosa

    January 13, 2019 at 9:16 pm

    One for sorrow sounds like a lovely book especially covering mental health as it is such an important topic which many don’t cover it.

  • Fran Back With A Bump

    January 14, 2019 at 9:52 am

    What a great idea for a book. It’s so good to see mental health being tackled. I love the way the book is written and illustrated too, looks really quirky and not too babyish either!

  • Sarah Dee

    January 14, 2019 at 10:09 am

    I think kids also need to know it’s ok not to be ok. This sounds like a great book and something I would be happy to buy for Minime!
    Sarah Dee recently posted…The Grand Sirenis, Riviera MayaMy Profile

  • Alex Gladwin

    January 14, 2019 at 10:49 am

    I really like this! It’s good to see a book that approaches this important subject written for children too!

  • Rachel

    January 14, 2019 at 11:38 am

    This sounds so wonderfully written and it has gone on my list of things to buy for my niece who has just turned 7, but I think the subject is an important one x

  • Jon

    January 14, 2019 at 12:37 pm

    What a fantastic book. Mental Health is SO important the sooner you introduce the whole concept to your kids the better!

  • Sonia

    January 14, 2019 at 2:45 pm

    I love the look of this book, I think I will get it for my youngest as I am sure it would really help him as he struggles with overwhelming sadness at times. It breaks my heart that I can’t seem to help him x
    Sonia recently posted…Biddulph Grange GardenMy Profile

  • CHARLOTTE

    January 14, 2019 at 5:18 pm

    Love the concept behind this book. It is so important that children are raised to be aware of not only their physical health but also mental health.

  • Hannah Wood

    January 14, 2019 at 7:40 pm

    My kids are very much in to book at the moment and I know they would love this one too.

  • l dove

    January 14, 2019 at 7:57 pm

    I love this! I have had mental health issues my whole life and it’s hard sometimes to explain that to the kids. This sounds like such a great book!
    l dove recently posted…Can we all just be a little more mindful of what we say on social media??My Profile

  • Jenna Parrington

    January 14, 2019 at 9:00 pm

    What a fantastic idea for a children’s book, one which is often overlooked. I’ll be checking this out for sure!
    Jenna Parrington recently posted…Kärcher SC 4 EasyFix Premium Steam Cleaner – ReviewMy Profile

  • Sarah Bailey

    January 15, 2019 at 12:08 am

    This sounds like a really good book for kids. I love the fact it has a happy ending as mental health can have that and it’s always good to know it isn’t always sorrow, but teaching kids about this awful illness from a young age is a good thing.
    Sarah Bailey recently posted…Check Out These Shoes – You Might Just Love ThemMy Profile

  • Rachel

    January 15, 2019 at 8:12 am

    This book sounds lovely. Definitely one I’ll have to look up for my own children x

  • Marie

    January 15, 2019 at 9:46 am

    This is a fantastic idea! A really simple story with a big message, great to open up about mental health.

  • Victoria

    January 15, 2019 at 9:58 am

    I love the concept of this book! Children definitely need to aware of mental health issues and the fact that if they like something is wrong they aren’t alone. Love that there are storybooks that put it in a simple manner. I’ll definitely look this one up. Thanks for sharing.

    Victoria | http://www.spokenreveries.co.uk

  • Super Busy Mum

    January 15, 2019 at 10:09 am

    This sounds like such a lovely book and a book that children could really benefit from. Mental health is such a huge subject nowadays!

  • Amanda blackburn

    January 15, 2019 at 1:06 pm

    This sounds absolutely wonderful. I’m a childminder so will definitely be getting this.

  • Lauretta at Home and Horizon

    January 16, 2019 at 3:49 pm

    Sounds like a wonderful book. This could be a good gift for my friend’s 7 year old.

  • Louise

    January 16, 2019 at 11:07 pm

    This sounds like a really wonderful book. Stacey, my eldest, supports kids her age with mental health issues so I think she’d find this super useful 🙂

    Louise x

  • Clare Minall

    January 18, 2019 at 12:45 am

    Oh love this!! My kids would constantly be adding to their reading list! This is a great

    help as I compile their 2019 reading list.

  • Jenni

    January 21, 2019 at 3:20 pm

    What a beautiful and important book! I will definitely try and add this to our home library.
    Jenni recently posted…New Year Countdown with KidsMy Profile

  • Hayley McLean

    January 28, 2019 at 8:49 pm

    I love the sound of this!! Its so important to talk to children about mental health. I think Im going to buy this.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Prev Post Next Post
*Some links on this blog may be affiliate links. Lukeosaurus And Me is a participant in the Amazon EU Associates Programme, an affiliate advertising programme designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.co.uk
%d bloggers like this: